You need cookies enabled to use this website.
For the current REF, see the REF 2029 website | For REF 2014, see the REF 2014 website
You need cookies enabled

The introduction of an institutional-level submission for the environment was a key recommendation of an independent review of the REF, led by Lord Stern.  The pilot panel will explore the feasibility of an institutional-level assessment, to inform inclusion of this element in future exercises. It will provide recommendations to the funding bodies and publish its findings in 2022.  Information about the institutional-level environment will be provided to the 34 REF sub-panels for context. It will not be scored by the sub-panels, and the pilot assessment will not contribute to the outcomes of REF 2021.

The panel is chaired by Professor Chris Day, Vice Chancellor and President of Newcastle University, and includes senior research leaders with a breadth of discipline expertise across a range of UK HEIs, as well as individuals with expertise in the wider use and benefits of research, and those with senior-level experience in research management.

Expressions of interest for membership of the panel were invited from any individual meeting the criteria set out in the person specification. In appointing the panel, the funding bodies have sought to ensure the panel membership reflects a spread of research expertise, diversity in size and type of HEI, and in user and international perspectives.

Membership list

Name Institution
Professor Chris Day (Chair) Newcastle University
Professor John Cattell Historic England
Dr Stephen Conway University of Oxford
Professor Nandini Das University of Liverpool
Professor Michael Fitzpatrick Coventry University
Professor Sir Barry Ife Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Professor Andrew Jones City, University of London
Professor Linda King Oxford Brookes University
Professor Fiona Lettice University of East Anglia
Professor Dewi Lewis Independent
Professor Weiru Liu University of Bristol
Professor Ruth Northway University of South Wales
Professor Mark Ormerod Keele University
Professor Murray Pittock University of Glasgow
Professor Michael Rayner University of the Highlands and Islands
Dr Rosa Scoble Brunel University London
Professor Martin Tillotson University of Leeds
Mr Alisdair Wotherspoon Independent
Professor Dianne Berry (Observer) University of Reading